World Aquatics Championships. Water polo. Men. Italy becomes World Champion

The seventh day of the water polo tournament has ended. The gold medal was won by the national teams of Italy and Spain. The score after the first period 2-2, after the first half Italy led with a score of 3-5, the team was supported by more than three thousand people. After the third period the score was 3-8, and the score after the final whistle was 5-10.

photo: #russportimage

Team Italy is a four-time World Cup champion and won gold in 2011, 1994 and 1978. Also in the collection of Italians there are two silvers and two bronzes. In 1994, Italy also met Spain in the final of the World Cup, and the game ended with the same score in favor of Italy: 5-10.

The Spaniards won the World Cup in 1998 and 2001. At this time, the Spanish team had a “golden” period. They also won the Olympic Games in 1996. Now, in the piggy bank of the Italian national team two gold awards and four silver.

photo: #russportimage

Croatia and Hungary played the bronze. The score after the first period is 2-1, after the first half 4-3. After the third period, the gap also did not increase: 6-5. In the fourth period, Croatia broke ahead, scoring four goals. The score at the end of the game is 10-7, the Croatian national team takes the bronze medal.

Italian Marco del Lungo was named the best goalkeeper of the championship, his team-mate Franzesco Di Fulvio became the best player of the tournament. Aleksandar Ivovic from Montenegro scored the most goals (21 goals).

The final standings of the teams:

  1. Italy
  2. Spain
  3. Croatia
  4. Hungary
  5. Serbia
  6. Australia
  7. Greece
  8. Germany
  9. United States
  10. Montenegro
  11. Japan
  12. South african
  13. Brazil
  14. Kazakhstan
  15. South Korea
  16. New Zealand

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.